Please enable Java in your browser.

Cobb & Co Coaches

 New Cobb & Co Coach mural

Original Cobb & Co Coach

Prior to 1866, travel between Wellington and Wanganui was along the beaches by horseback or on foot. River mouths were crossed by primitive ferries or Mãori canoe. In 1866 the "Cobb" Coach service began. It was named after the Australian one, but run by many different contractors. The original service was twice weekly, it later became a daily service.

The trip from Wellington, described as "12 hours of continuous misery" cost thirty-two shillings and sixpence. The alternative was the coastal steamer which could also be an unpleasant experience.

The opening of the Wellington to Palmerston North railway made the coach service unnecessary.

The top mural has replaced the original (lower) one.

Artists: Des Comyn (top mural); Michael Barclay (Original lower mural)

Sponsor: Creative New Zealand

Site: The Station Information Centre

Top

Back to Murals


Sponsored by the
Horowhenua District Council in association with the Foxton Murals Committee.

Site by Webdzine

Copyright Foxton Murals & Horowhenua District Council

[XHTML 1.0] [CSS]